The MMFF Award

The Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation Award was created in 1992 to recognize outstanding contributions toward preventing and eliminating family violence in Canada.

The Award recognizes an individual, group, organization, business, corporation or workplace that has furthered the prevention and elimination of family violence. The Award is presented annually during a special public function of the Foundation to commemorate the birthday of the Foundation’s Patron, Muriel McQueen Fergusson.

MMFF Award Nomination Form

Julie Devon Dodd is the 2016 MMFF Award Recipient. (L-R) Tim McCluskey, Fergusson Foundation VP & Chair of the Award Selection Committee, Noreen Bonnell, Fergusson Foundation President, Julie Devon Dodd, Hon. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau, O.N.B., Hon Denis Landry, Minister of Justice & Public Safety.


Canadian individuals or organizations whose achievements have advanced the prevention and elimination of family violence are eligible for nomination. All nominations should be in the same format as per the nomination form above and supported by two letters of recommendation.

Selection Process

The Award recipient is selected by a committee of the Foundation’s Board of Directors representatives based on the information provided by the nominators. The Fergusson Foundation reserves the right to verify the accuracy of the information provided in the submission. Nominees not chosen in the first year are retained and will be considered for the Award for the next two years.

About the AwardPewterAward

The Award itself was designed and produced by Carole Cronkite of Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada’s first female pewtersmith.

The Award is made entirely by hand using only basic tools. Different gauges of sheet pewter are layered to create a three-dimensional effect. The four-piece logo is cut out with a delicate jewelers saw, filed, soldered, etched and shaded to produce the finished award.

The design of the Award is intended to symbolize the many faces of violence.

In addition, the Award recipient selects a registered charity, whose objectives further the goals of the Foundation, and the Foundation makes a $1,000 donation in their name.

Hon. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau, O.N.B. welcomes the Fergusson Foundation and guests to the 2016 MMFF Award Ceremony at Government House.

New Brunswick’s Lieutenant-Governor and the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation Award

Founding member of the Fergusson Foundation and former Lieutenant-Governor Margaret Norrie McCain helped set the tone for the involvement of the Office of the Lieutenant-Governor in supporting the quest to eliminate family violence. For many years the Office of the Lieutenant-Governor has graciously allowed the Foundation to hold the Award presentation ceremony at Government House. Other Lieutenant-Governors including Marilyn Trenholme Counsell, Herménégilde Chiasson and Graydon Nicholas have continued this support.  In 2015, the Honourable Jocelyne Roy-Vienneau became an active participant with the Foundation’s work by accepting the role as Honorary Patron of the Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation Award.

Government House is the official residence to the Lieutenant-Governor but is also open to the public and receives thousands of visitors on an annual basis. The Award is now displayed at Government House allowing visiting Canadians, dignitaries, monarchy, heads of state, countless tours of school children and many others all to see these examples of outstanding Canadians, organizations and businesses who have helped further the elimination of family violence.

Past Recipients

  • 1993 June Callwood
  • 1994 Dr. Peter Jaffee
  • 1995 Margaret Norrie McCain
  • 1996 Sister Cecile Renault (posthumously)
  • 1997 Dr. Donald G. Dutton
  • 1998 ‘Making Waves’
  • 1999 The Body Shop Canada
  • 2000 Fredericton Sexual Assault Crisis Centre
  • 2001 Dr. Sandra Byers
  • 2002 Rina Arseneault
  • 2003 Red Cross RespectED
  • 2004 Senator Sharon Carstairs and Margaret Newall
  • 2005 Margaret-Ann Blaney
  • 2006 Penny K. Ericson
  • 2007 Madeleine Delaney-LeBlanc
  • 2008 Bernard Richard
  • 2009 Rona Brown
  • 2010 Native Women’s Association of Canada
  • 2011 White Ribbon Campaign
  • 2012 Ghosts of Violence
  • 2013 Dr. Nancy Nason-Clark
  • 2014 Sigrid Rolfe & Dr. Philip Smith
  • 2015 Family Enrichment and Counselling Service
  • 2016 Julie Devon Dodd
  • 2017 C. Anne Crocker, C.M.
  • 2018 Maryse Rinfret-Raynor